Vartiovuorenkatu 2
20700 Turku
+358 2 262 0961
In 1827 the Great Fire of Turku caused massive destruction, but Luostarinmäki was spared from the flames. Nowadays the old quarter and artisans of Luostarinmäki form a unique atmosphere, where time stands still. At the museum, journey in time to life of the common folk from the 1800’s.

The museum presents the professions of the pre-industrial era, with many different handicraft workshops located in the village. Celebrated in August are the Handicraft Days, where the craftsmen of bygone times will present their crafts and skills.

All Luostarinmäki post is stamped by hand with a special postmark, and from the Museum Shop handicrafts and sweets are available to buy, among others items. Just next to the museum is located Café Kisälli.


  • Master, Banquet, Meeting - capacity <30